Board of Barber

Examiners

COVID-19 Frequently Asked Questions

 

Below are questions to frequently asked questions about the impact of the novel coronavirus on barbers and barbershops. If you have additional questions, please contact us.

 

Have shops been ordered to close?

 

Yes. The governor has issued various orders that both close barbershops statewide and that have extended how long they must remain closed.

 

How long must the shop remain closed?

 

The governor announced that barbershops must remain closed for about two to three weeks from May 8, and possibly longer. The length of time will depend on what epidemiological data shows about hospitalizations, testing, infection rates, and death rates.

 

The governor hasn't announced a specific date but instead spoke about phases for reopening the economy. Barbershops will fall under Phase 2, which begins approximately two to three weeks after the stay-at-home order expires. The stay-at-home order is currently set to expire on May 8, though it could be extended.  The governor also suggested that the reopening of businesses, including barbershops, may be subject to certain restrictions that currently haven't been specified.

 

Was it the board that issue the order to close?

 

No, it was the governor. The board doesn't have the ability to order this kind of shutdown.

 

What is the penalty for the shop remaining open during the shutdown?

 

The executive order indicates that violators may be subject to prosecution for a class 2 misdemeanor. Any enforcement of that penalty would be done by local law enforcement, not the board.

 

Can I cut hair from home or in people's homes during the shutdown?

 

Only if the individual is a family member. "Family member" means a spouse, brother, sister, parent, grandparent, child, grandchild, mother-in-law, father-in-law, daughter-in-law, son-in-law, stepparent, or stepchild.

 

If an individual cuts the hair of non-family members outside of a barber shop, he or she is subject to penalties and fees that range from $365 to $665 for each offense. In addition, it's a class 3 misdemeanor.

 

Can my shop still charge me booth rent?

 

Unfortunately, the board doesn't have any authority over whether shops continue to charge rent during the shutdown. It's possible that by calling 211, barbers can be connected with resources for rent assistance. However, this may only be for residential rent.

 

Am I eligible for unemployment benefits?

 

Possibly. Although the board doesn't administer unemployment, the Division of Economic Security and the Governor's Office have indicated that independent contractors and self-employed workers will be eligible for federal unemployment benefits beginning Friday, April 24. (They won't be eligible for state unemployment benefits at this time.) For more information, please go to the Division of Economic Security website.

 

Other questions?

 

  • If you have questions that are specifically about barber regulations and their relationship to COVID-19, please see our contact page for information on how to reach us.
  • If you have questions about COVID-19 that aren't specifically about barber regulations, please see the North Carolina COVID-19 Response page.

 

 

Information

Stay in Touch

North Carolina Board of Barber Examiners

7001 Mail Service Center

Raleigh, NC 27699-7000

(919) 814-0640